In December 1927, the institution was again destroyed by fire, but a primitive school, Subiaco Academy, was reopened in February 1928, in what was left of the Main Building. This school barely survived the Depression Years. During World War II, enrollment soared, but it was only after 1945 that Subiaco Academy was able to expand its physical plant. In the 1960s, when a majority of Subiaco’s students began enrolling in college, Subiaco Academy became college prep and was accredited by the North Central Association in 1968.
The earliest administrators and teachers were all Benedictine monks. By the time of the First World War, there were one or two male lay teachers. Hired coaches were added after the mid-1920s. The great number of non-monk staff (teachers and administrators), including female staff, came only in the mid-1970s.
Subiaco Academy is unique in the state of Arkansas in that it is the only Catholic boarding school and in the fact that the majority of its students board at the school. Almost half of these young men come from outside the state as well as from several foreign countries. The “community” of Subiaco Academy consists of its students, its faculty, its parents and its support staff. In a broader sense, however, the school “community” also consists of the entire monastic community of monks, the Academy’s alumni, and the residents of the surrounding area.